New Cover for Black Locust Letters

This last year has seen big improvements in my artistic skills. I’ve had the layout idea for a fresh Black Locust Letters cover image for a few months now, but last week was the first time I sat down with the plan to actually bring it into fruition.

Week2BlackLocustLetters2

This was done in ink on paper which was not (but should have been) watercolor paper. To be utterly honest, the real image isn’t so perfectly colorblocked nor is the red so vibrant. Photoshop did that.

This year I’m taking illustrations more seriously than I have in the past. My focus is on ink and pen, both the ultra-modern inspired (like above) and very traditional, classic pieces. Unfortunately, it does mean I spend less time writing than in the past. I’m learning how to compensate, as a whole not doing too bad.

This is my first piece of news. There is more. 😀

 

Nicolette

Leave a Reply

