Holes

This is a rave post.

I just read Holes (by Louis Sachar). You know, that book everyone normal reads in high school which for some reason I didn’t.

I had a “this changed my life” moment at 2 AM when I finished it. Because the storyline, the way the plots twist together is gorgeous.

It’s fine if you disagree with me. But even my little brother enjoyed Holes when he had to read it for English class. He was never a real big bookworm, preferred to have tools in his hands and a motor of some sort on the workbench.

So, here is what I learned from Holes.

  • Keep language simple. One paragraph is on one topic alone, and there’s no shame in that paragraph only being one sentence. A sentence only does one thing. It doesn’t try to do three different things at the same time.
  • Keep motives simple. Love, fickle love, true love, even digging today’s hole. There’s nothing wrong with simple.
  • Rare foot fungus can make you millions.

But what Holes really did is it showed me a way I can make stories work better. I love that.

And if you haven’t read Holes yet, do so. It took me about 4 or 5 hours and is 42k words long.

Can you believe that? So much awesomeness in a neat little 42,000 words.

What’s a book you wished you read earlier?

-Nicolette

Leave a Reply

