My first NaNoWriMo meet and greet

For the first time since I joined NaNoWriMo, I was able to meet up with other novelists face to ace. I am exempting people I knew prior to NaNoing, such as my cousins. Last year my regional meeting was held a few hours way from where I lived and only had the beginning and ending parties, so I did not go to meet anyone. The year before, my firs year, I was living in Wells, Nevada,and we did not even have a  ML for the region. Wells was actually where I was living when I wrote Feral Magic, with Terra eating bits of rejected paper I threw on the floor. Wow, that was quite a while ago.

Back to today. I haven’t ever had so many writers around me, except for the couple of creative writing classes I took over two years ago.  It is fun to be surrounded by people out to challenge themselves, with people looking for a little camaraderie and friendship. Most people on NaNo just want to make it to 50,00 words.I have little bit of  different goal. I want to complete a tale, in its entirety in November. I know it’s possible, and I have a pretty good idea for how to do it.

Of course, first I need to create a plotline for it.  I was (jokingly) told it had to do something with aliens riding unicorns riding dragons in a circus show.  That one made my head ache trying to think how genres could bend like that. Then someone else had to add in elves, and oh boy. This is what I get for going into a meet and greet with the synopsis “it’s going to be a fantasy story, probably urban or high fantasy, but I’m not sure yet.”

Naturally, I don’t have to see the ideas bouncing around, but it certainly does sound like a fun challenge. It’s worth a laugh anyway. What this whole thing boils down to is this: This is going to be a great month and I’m looking forward to going through it with these crazy, wacky people.

Leave a Reply

