Wise words whilst writing

Ever started to type, get on a real good roll, and then–nothing. Not even a cricket. Sometimes I can just rattle on about whatever pops into my head, and then the action starts the story again and we’re back on our merry way. Sort of not happening right now. So I thought I’d pause to share the most recent of my little rambles. Just because I’m certain every writer is guilty of this. At least once. Cue: Story and ensuing ramble.

Don’t panic.

It was the first thing that came into my mind. Don’t panic, but don’t stick around to see how this ends up working, either. And don’t ditch the horse. If these two didn’t kill me, the King would.

Some days, life just sucks, doesn’t it? And clearly I will remove these such comments upon editing, but what they hey, I just need to be typing right now instead of brooding and oooooh, spaghettio’s sound good. Those things probably aren’t the best for me. In fact, they aren’t even all that good I just like them because they remind me of lunch before speech therapy with Mom, when I would have a leg go to sleep and we would have to pull over on the road and rub it because it felt like ants were biting me alll up and down. Ahh, those were the days. I remember the last day of speech therapy. I drew a picture of rain and was pasting rain drops down on the paper, and the lady kept correcting me on how I was saying things. I didn’t understand why words had to be said a certain way. I just knew it was wanted from me.

And look at me now, paying attention to the nuances of words and the way they sound, not just the meaning behind them or expecting people to understand what I’m saying and meaning anyways. When did 9000 words become so very few to me? This is insane.

The truth is, I don’t know what goes next. I can’t think of anything. Lalalalala, la. Darn it.

I guess I can just focus on typing. I have a heck of a lot of handwritten pages to finish up. But it won’t make sense unless this gets all patched together.

I don’t know why I had to go all the way back to the beginning. I started in the middle. Then pushed it back. Then back again. Doing intro’s are annoying, and erasing four of them are even more so. But I’ve got to do what it takes to make this thing right, you know? That’s what I keep telling myself. It’s just so maddening because of how close this is to finishing. Dad used to say to me that the last 10% of a project takes 90% of the effort. I always wish he wasn’t right. But he is.

…and this is the brilliant thought I leave you fine folks with today. I know. It’s amazing. Beautiful. A real tear-jerker.

Phhha! Stop laughing at me, it isn’t nice to do that. 😉

Till I have something more inspirational (and more dedication to giving you guys a steady posting schedule),

 

~Your Dearest Nicolette

Leave a Reply

