Answer To the “How’s Your Theatre Coping?” Question

No, it was not my theatre that got shot. That was in Aurora, Co. I’m in Idaho. However, Colorado is next door neighbors to us, and I, as well as many of my employees, do have friends and family in Denver.

I’ve had several people ask me how I’m personally taking the news, and then how the theatre is doing. A little bit of background: I worked till the AM hours during the Batman show, going home probably two hours before the closing manager, though after the other employees. I opened the next morning, and about three quarters of my morning shift had also worked the night with me. One was neutral as always, but the others were nervous. We were all thinking, that could have been our theatre eight hours ago. And it could have been. But it wasn’t. And I couldn’t afford to have nervous employees, especially in the morning when the mood we set would continue through the day and transfer to our customers. We needed to show people they shouldn’t be afraid, because we  weren’t afraid. We needed to be calm, confident, and cheery as always. And in quiet, I prayed for those families in the shooting. I prayed for the families of the wounded and deceased. I prayed for those physically unharmed. I prayed for the staff of the theatre, and hoped that they wouldn’t feel guilt or that they should have done more than they did.

When my shift ended, I ran some errands and spoke with many nice people. I encountered a few who said they would not be going to the movies for a long time. My response? “I’m sorry to hear that.” And I was. The man who did this, who tormented and gunned down people who were out for a positive experience, was sick and evil. He was apparently a very intelligent person, and he used that intelligence to exact pain and fear onto those people he otherwise might have actually helped. He was caught and now is of no danger to anyone else. And I’m sad that people are afraid, and changing what they do because of it.

Now, once someone hears my reply, they almost always say, “Oh! I’d still go to your theatre. The people are so friendly.”

Maybe they’re brownnosing because they could see I was still in my uniform and wear the manager’s keys. Maybe they were overstating themselves when they said they wouldn’t go to the movies anymore. It doesn’t really matter.

When someone asks what I think about the shooting, what it comes down to is this:

I’m saddened by it. It’s such a tragedy. I am sorry for the lives lost, I’m sorry that the other people’s lives will never be the same. But, I will not be afraid of it. I will not allow my staff to be frightened, and I do everything I can to put our customers at ease. The man was evil, and the way to fight evil is to keep it out of your heart and spread the goodness in your heart.

Anyway. I couldn’t let this event pass by and act as though I hadn’t even noticed that it happened. My readers know my occupation, and it would be too callous to seem like I didn’t care enough to write one post about it, even though it is off-topic from the primary scope of the blog.

Your Dearest Nicolette

Leave a Reply

