Lucky 7 Meme

Ok, so one of the bloggers I follow (Joanne Phillips) posted a Lucky 7 Meme. While no one tagged me, I thought it would be an interesting way to look at my work in progress. As it happens, the only thing I have that reaches page 77 (so far) is Feral Magic. King’s Mutt goes to page 54, so I could make that work if I changed the page size.

The Rules Are:

1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written.
4. Tag 7 writers and let them know

There is no pressure to join or continue the chain. While I enjoy doing exercises like this, I am not much of a chain-person. But if you decide to do a Lucky 7 Meme, leave me a comment with a link to your work! It’s fun to see all of these out-of-context sections.

Mine is horribly out of context, but there you are.

I bolted up taller. “I will do no such thing, but I will put in a good word with the judges if you volunteer to help.”

“In stealing?” The man wrinkled his pig nose, such a dainty thing on his face was utterly misplaced with his sharp chin, profound forehead, and greased black hair.

A cold breeze rolled over my back; I advanced on the him. “I do not believe we have been formally introduced.”

Even for a hardened dark sorcerer, it was hard for him to deny civility when he was faced with it. It was what he was raised to do, and I made him hesitate. “No, and I do not wish it. I do not interact with creatures.”

Creature? It seemed a bit harsh, but I played along. “Then you will not interfere with my duties further.”

“I am going to take you to the proper authorities. Please come with me quietly.”

I recognized the smooth flow of words now, but I did a second look, then squinted my eyes. He sounded and acted very much like a vampire, but there was something strange about him, something very alive yet dead. I frowned and took an involuntary step backwards, “What are you?”

7-paragraph clip from Feral Magic

Wow, my writing has changed since then!!! Ok, I changed up The King’s Mutt’s formatting to be 1″ margins and double-spaced. Which is probably what most people have their stuff at anyways…I have a quote now!

Deann poked me with her stick. “Get out of here! Go enjoy the festival.”

Stepping out into the walkway where grass was already turning to dirt, I looked to catch Clyde’s eye. He waved, then went back to cajoling Ash about looking so stunned when the magician produced an egg from behind his ear.

I almost lost Hunter when a group of giggling girls moved away from a jewelry stand. When I next found him, I did like all the friends did, and grabbed his elbow. I didn’t think about it until he raised his eye at me.

“Social taboo?” I let him go.

“It’s fine,” he said, waiting for me to grab his elbow again. I did, but I let go as soon as we had food and were out of the stampede zone.

We sat on a grassy slope beneath budding trees, and soon Belle joined us, curling up between Hunter and me. She had food, and soon an agitated teenager exclaimed that Belle had stolen it right out from under his nose. Hunter gave the boy a coin that would buy much more than one meal.

“She’s rather similar to a child sometimes,” mused Hunter.

7-paragraph clip from The King’s Mutt

It really makes you think, doesn’t it? I think I’ll use sideways editing like this more often.

2 thoughts on “Lucky 7 Meme

  1. Hi Nicolette,
    Thanks for the link to my blog – I wish I had tagged you, I’ve just discovered your blog and I love it. And your excerpts are fab – mine was very banal!
    Happy Lucky 7 🙂
    Jo

    1. Hi Joanne,

      No problem about the link. I love sharing stuff. And don’t worry about having not tagged me–I’m a bit of a recluse, even on the internet.

      And I thought your excerpt was great! I was reading the dialogue thinking, ‘Hey, I get what’s going on here.’ Then looking at mine and thinking…context! Need context! Wish mine was as easy to “get” as Joanne’s.

      Glad you like my cozy little blog. 🙂 I’ve read everything you’ve come out with since I found it about a month or two ago.

      Happy Lucky 7 to you, too!

      Nicolette

Leave a Reply

