I Entered into NaNoWriMo

…does this make me a geek? Or does it mean I take writing seriously, or does it mean I take it too seriously?

Oh, well. For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is not some bizarre Asian cartoon (like I thought when I first laid eyes on it). It means National Novel Writing Month, which is not so much appreciation for those who write novels but is a giant support group for those who aspire to write one…in one month. That’s  50,000 words to be listed as a “winner”. Considering I did A Drake’s Ward (77,000 unedited words) in a month and a half, I think I can do this. All I need is to pick a story to tell and go with it. Unlike others, who carefully script their characters out well-ahead of time, I’m going to do my best to finish editing ADW this month, then jump cold turkey into the NaNoWriMo.

What book will I do?

…no clue.

I have several partial stories and ideas on my desktop in the folder “Scribbles”. I should adopt one of them to finish. Really, I should. I also have a feeling I should work on A Drake’s Wife, the sequel to so-far unpublished A Drake’s Ward. Putting the cart ahead of the horse? I don’t think so. The STORY of A Drake’s Ward is finished, but the characters are along way from it. I can’t decide to push on right now, or to let them age and mature on my desktop a while longer? I also think that scenes in my Deleted Scenes can be employed in “Wife”, so that would be handy, though I’d feel like I was cheating a little to use the 5,200 words I did not write in November. Ah, well. Something from my “Scribbles” folder it is…maybe.

Till later, my scarcely-existant-thus-far readers!

Nicolette.

2 thoughts on “I Entered into NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

